Help:Deleting a page

From The Vault - Fallout Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
 
Gametitle-Wiki.png
Gametitle-Wiki.png

When not to delete a page[edit source]

Typically you would delete a page if the contents are entirely inappropriate and do not match the purposes of the Wiki. In other situations, you would take a less extreme course of action, for example:

  • The page should have a different title -- See Help:Moving a page
  • The contents should have been placed on a different page -- Add the contents to the other page, and then supply a redirect. See Help:Redirects
  • The contents are already on a different page -- Delete the duplicate content and leave a redirect. That way, the page title, which made sense to somebody, will helpfully redirect to the information. See Help:Redirects

An actual delete is generally necessary only if the title of the page is inappropriate. In other situations, a merge and redirect is more appropriate.

Proposing changes[edit source]

Deciding on appropriate content/page titles can be a difficult aspect of Wiki organization, and one which can often provoke debates. If the deletion you have in mind is one which might cause upset, you should propose the change first. Do this by placing a {{delete}} tag to the top of the page, adding in a note giving your reasons for the proposal.

Unlinking a page[edit source]

The 'What links here' toolbox feature (bottom of left sidebar) will tell you which other Wiki pages link to the current page. Always use this feature to check before proceeding with deleting. These related pages will need to be edited for their links to reflect the change.

Deletion itself[edit source]

Normal users cannot permanently delete a Wiki page (commonly known as blanking the page). This is a deliberate design feature, and is an important part of why wikis work. Every kind of editing operation can be reverted by any other user, and that includes resurrecting removed content.

'Sysop' users are able to delete a page semi-permanently. Typically 'sysops' might look for delete labels, and do a proper delete on these pages, after a period of time/appropriate discussion has taken place. If for some reason you need a page to be deleted more quickly than that, you will need to contact a 'sysop' directly to request this.

See also[edit source]